During set up, your Organizer Dashboard will have a tab activated so you can choose to approve the hours upon each submission. At this step you can also choose NOT to have approval required. To change approval on submission for hours and new users go to: Organizer Dashboard >> Settings >> Volunteers
The ability to approve hours is something that is only available permanantly on the paid plans. After the first 30 days of signing up the approval ability will no longer be available unless you upgrade.
If you have selected hours to be approved by your organizer upon submission, all hours will require approval except if they are entered directly through the Hour Log Form on the Organizer Dashboard usually by an Owner, Manager or Coordinator.
To approve hours:
If there is no Coordinator assigned the Owner or Manager of an organization will receive email notifications for approval upon each submission. Once a Coordinator(s) is assigned all notifications will be sent to this role. The only way to not receive email notifcations is to disable "approval upon submission" in Organizer Dashboard >> Settings >> Hour Log.